BOAT EXCISE ABATEMENT APPLICATION

RETURN APPLICATION FORM AND DOCUMENTATION TO:

INSTRUCTIONS. To apply for an abatement (or refund if
excise has been paid), complete this form and provide the
specified documentation.

Abatement applications must be received by the assessors
within three years after the excise was due, or one year after
the excise was paid, whichever is later. To preserve your right
to appeal, you must file on time. By law, assessors may only
act on late applications in limited circumstances where the
excise is still unpaid and their decision in those cases is final.

ng an application does not stay the collection of your excise
. To avoid interest, charges, a penalty of $20.00 or 20% of
the excise, whichever is greater, and collection action, including
loss of mooring or docking privileges, you must pay the bill in

full within 60 days of its issue date. You will receive a refund if
an abatement IS granted.

NOTE: You are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel
your registration and retain ownership of the boat, or (2) change
the registration or location of the boat to another Massachusetts
city or town, during the fiscal year.

Return this completed form to:
Board of Assessorse of Seekonk, MA.
Board of Assessors at (508) 336-2980

Do not write below this line

Year Bill #

Valuation Months Assessed

Excise Assessed

Abatement Allowed

A | 4% | &

Adjusted Excise

Cert# Date

Assessor

Assessor

Form Approved by Commissioner of Revenue
(STF 126-MVE)(12/2004)

General Laws Chapter 60B

BILL INFORMATION:
Fiscal Year

Registration/Documentation No.

Board of Assessors, 100 Peck St., Seekonk, MA. 02771

Name (as shown on bill)

Address (as shown on bill)

Mailing Address (if different)

Tax Date Issue Date Bill Number
Boat Name Model Year. Length
City/Town State Zip
City/Town State Zip

REASON YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AN ABATEMENT:

__Boat sold or traded

Boat total loss
__ Boat repossessed
Boat junked

Boat stolen

Boat mooring/registration/location
changed from billing city/town

__ Moved out of state

Exemption

Other

You must provide this documentation
Bill of sale

Insurance settlement letter
Notice from lienholder
Receipt from junk yard
Police report

Date of move:

Proof of new mooring place for summer of fiscal year of bill, or proof place boat located
or registered changed before July 1 of tax year of bill

NOTE: You are not entitled to an abatement if you registered or moved the boat
elsewhere within Massachusetts during the fiscal year of the excise tax.

Date of move:

If registered, registration from new state or country and proof of canceilation or expiration
of MA registration

Type: Documentation establishing qualifications

Explain: Relevant documentation

Subscribed under the penalties of perjury

Signature:

Date:

Telephone:




