Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Most public libraries have a copy. You can view and download chapters of the Massachusetts State Building Code 780 CMR by visiting the Massachusetts Department of Public Safety website.
Show All Answers
Yes, anyone opening a new business and/or changing tenants in an existing or new commercial space must apply to the Building Department for a Certificate of Use and Occupancy as well as a Sign Permit for new business signage. Upon inspection by the Building Commissioner; you will obtain your Certification of Occupancy.
If there are no zoning considerations or issues relating to the work being done, notification of abutter is not required. If you would like to know what your neighbors are building, all building permit files are public record and can be viewed at the Building Department by request.
You may request an amendment to your existing permit if there have not been any inspections conucted on the project yet.
If you need to change or revise your plans after your permit has been issued, you must file a written amendment request with the revised plans and valuation of the additional work as well as pay any additional fees due.
Homeowners should contact a registered home inspector for home inspections, the building inspector is not responsible for independent home inspections.
A permit is not required for a fence 6 feet and under in height. Common Practice / Courtesy is to put the "good" side to your neighbor but is not mandatory.
uilding permits are issued to Construction Supervisors licensed by the State of Massachusetts. Please note that there are several Specialty Licenses also. The Mass license is only valid for work involving structures less than 35,000 cf, for one & two family dwellings. As an exception to this requirement, building permits are also issued to homeowners doing work on one and two family dwellings where they reside. It is noted that when homeowners are issued building permits, they are liable for contractors working on their property and they are not eligible for protection under the provisions of the Home Improvement Contractor Law. The Seekonk Building Department encourages homeowners to have the building permit taken out by a licensed contractor. Licensed Contractors and Home Improvement Registrations can be checked online on the Home Improvement Contractor Registration and Renewal website.
Your building permit is good for 6 months (180 days). Work must commence within that period and continue without interruption, however it may, with permission of the Building Department, be renewed for up to 6 months provided that the request to extend the permit is made prior to original exipration date. After that, if you have not started or continuously worked on the project, your permit will be considered abandoned and you will have to reapply.
If your permit was issued in hard copy or prior to January 27, 2020, please call the Building Department Office at 508-336-2990 or email the Building Office and provide the permit type, permit number, address and type of inspection you would like to request as well as your contact information. The inspection request will be relayed to the appropriate inspector for coordination of the visit.
When there is any structural work and/or repairs to an existing dwelling; permits are required for including but not limited to the following:
If you are not sure if your work will require a permit please, contact the office at: 508-336-2990
Building permits provide the means for building officials to protect us by reducing the potential hazards of unsafe construction and therefore ensuring the public health, safety, and welfare.
Yes, if access to the new work requires an inspector to walk through your existing, furnished house. Someone must be present to let the inspector in. The inspector will not enter an unoccupied furnished house. We also will not enter a house in which only a child is home, unaccompanied by an adult.
To look up the list of what is kind of license is required for a specific job, visit the Construction Supervisor Licensing website.